Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Molybdenum | 34,000 t Mo content | 13.3% | 4 | 20.6% |
| Rare earths critical | 45,500 t REO equivalent | 12.0% | 2 | No data |
| Phosphate rock | 19,400 kt | 8.1% | 3 | 1.4% |
| Zinc critical | 759 kt Zn content | 6.4% | 6 | 3.9% |
| Gold | 163 t Au content | 5.0% | 5 | 4.5% |
| Platinum-group metals critical | 10,200 kg | 4.7% | 5 | No data |
| Copper | 1,050 kt Cu content | 4.6% | 5 | 4.8% |
| Silver critical | 1,050 t Ag content | 4.2% | 8 | 3.8% |
| Iron ore | 45,100 kt usable ore | 1.7% | 10 | 1.8% |
| Potash critical | 410 kt K2O equivalent | 0.9% | 11 | No data |
| Nickel critical | 7,490 t Ni content | 0.2% | 9 | No data |
| Cobalt critical | 200 t Co content | 0.1% | 12 | 0.6% |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 0 t | 0.0% | 19 | No data |
| Manganese critical | 0 kt Mn content | 0.0% | 8 | 0.0% |
| Tungsten critical | 0 t W content | 0.0% | 11 | No data |
| Vanadium critical | 0 t V content | 0.0% | 5 | No data |
| Antimony critical | 0 t Sb content | 0.0% | 16 | No data |
| Tin critical | 0 t Sn content | 0.0% | 15 | No data |
| Niobium critical | 0 t Nb content | 0.0% | 7 | No data |
| Chromium critical | 0 kt | 0.0% | 8 | No data |
| Lithium critical | No data t Li content | No data | No data | 11.9% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A. J. Burkhart | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Acton | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Adams Pit | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Agua Fria District | Gold, Copper, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Ajax | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Al Mono Mine | Gold, Silver, Lead | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alaska Group | Copper, Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alba | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alder Creek District | Copper, Gold, Silver, Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alice | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alice, Comercial Union | Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alleghany-Downieville | Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Coulee | Hydro | 6,809 MW | U S Bureau of Reclamation |
| West County Energy Center | Gas | 4,263 MW | Florida Power & Light Co |
| Palo Verde | Nuclear | 4,210 MW | Arizona Public Service Co |
| W A Parish | Coal | 4,008 MW | NRG Texas Power LLC |
| Scherer | Coal | 3,564 MW | Georgia Power Co |
| Bowen | Coal | 3,499 MW | Georgia Power Co |
| Browns Ferry | Nuclear | 3,494 MW | Tennessee Valley Authority |
| Crystal River | Gas | 3,449 MW | Duke Energy Florida LLC |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.