Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Platinum-group metals critical | 89,000 kg | 41.0% | 1 | No data |
| Antimony critical | 40,000 t Sb content | 33.6% | 2 | No data |
| Potash critical | 10,000 kt K2O equivalent | 21.4% | 2 | No data |
| Vanadium critical | 21,000 t V content | 17.8% | 2 | No data |
| Gold | 310 t Au content | 9.5% | 2 | 18.2% |
| Phosphate rock | 14,400 kt | 6.0% | 4 | 3.3% |
| Nickel critical | 205,000 t Ni content | 5.5% | 3 | No data |
| Silver critical | 1,280 t Ag content | 5.1% | 6 | 15.1% |
| Copper | 1,020 kt Cu content | 4.4% | 6 | 8.2% |
| Iron ore | 91,000 kt usable ore | 3.5% | 5 | 3.3% |
| Cobalt critical | 8,000 t Co content | 2.6% | 3 | 6.7% |
| Zinc critical | 310 kt Zn content | 2.6% | 9 | 12.1% |
| Tungsten critical | 1,500 t W content | 1.8% | 5 | No data |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 20,000 t | 1.3% | 6 | 4.5% |
| Tin critical | 3,260 t Sn content | 1.1% | 12 | No data |
| Rare earths critical | 2,600 t REO equivalent | 0.7% | 6 | No data |
| Molybdenum | 1,500 t Mo content | 0.6% | 12 | 6.5% |
| Niobium critical | 300 t Nb content | 0.3% | 4 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abakan | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Afrikanda Deposit | Titanium, Iron ore, Vanadium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bakchar | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bauxite - Ussr | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Belaya Gora | Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Berezovo Deposit | Gold, Lead, Zinc, Copper, Tungsten, Antimony | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Botogolsk | Graphite | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bugdainsk | Molybdenum, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Dimitrovsk | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Gusevogorsk Deposit | Titanium, Vanadium, Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Ilintas | Tin, Tungsten, Copper, Cobalt, Silver, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Inagly | Platinum-group metals, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surgutskaya GRES-2 | Gas | 8,865 MW | PJSC "Unipro" |
| Krasnoyarsk | Hydro | 6,000 MW | JSC "Krasnoyarsk HPP" |
| CHP-23 | Gas | 5,690 MW | PJSC "Mosenergo" |
| Bratsk HPP | Hydro | 4,500 MW | PJSC "IRKUTSKENERGO" |
| Balakovo NPP | Nuclear | 4,000 MW | JSC "Concern Rosenergoatom" |
| Kalinn NPP | Nuclear | 4,000 MW | JSC "Concern Rosenergoatom" |
| Kursk | Nuclear | 4,000 MW | JSC "Concern Rosenergoatom" |
| Leningrad NPP | Nuclear | 4,000 MW | JSC "Concern Rosenergoatom" |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.