Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graphite (natural) critical | 1,270,000 t | 81.9% | 1 | 32.3% |
| Tungsten critical | 67,000 t W content | 81.7% | 1 | No data |
| Vanadium critical | 84,000 t V content | 71.2% | 1 | No data |
| Rare earths critical | 270,000 t REO equivalent | 71.1% | 1 | No data |
| Phosphate rock | 105,000 kt | 43.9% | 1 | 4.7% |
| Molybdenum | 100,000 t Mo content | 39.1% | 1 | 45.9% |
| Antimony critical | 40,000 t Sb content | 33.6% | 1 | No data |
| Zinc critical | 4,000 kt Zn content | 33.6% | 1 | 25.0% |
| Tin critical | 71,000 t Sn content | 24.1% | 1 | No data |
| Lithium critical | 41,400 t Li content | 18.6% | 3 | 12.4% |
| Silver critical | 3,430 t Ag content | 13.6% | 3 | 11.0% |
| Potash critical | 6,300 kt K2O equivalent | 13.5% | 3 | No data |
| Gold | 377 t Au content | 11.5% | 1 | 4.8% |
| Iron ore | 293,000 kt usable ore | 11.3% | 3 | 11.4% |
| Copper | 1,840 kt Cu content | 8.0% | 4 | 4.2% |
| Manganese critical | 690 kt Mn content | 3.7% | 7 | 14.4% |
| Nickel critical | 115,000 t Ni content | 3.1% | 6 | No data |
| Cobalt critical | 2,000 t Co content | 0.7% | 11 | 1.3% |
| Niobium critical | 44 t Nb content | 0.0% | 6 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bai Sha Po Mine | Tungsten, Tin, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bayan Obo Mine | Iron ore, Rare earths | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Beihai District | Titanium, Rare earths | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chanchiang | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chayuanpo | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chingping | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chingshan | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chinho | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Dajishan Mine | Tungsten, Molybdenum, Niobium and tantalum | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Dayu District | Molybdenum, Tungsten, Copper, Tin | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Dounan | Manganese | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Emei | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Three Gorges Dam | Hydro | 22,500 MW | Not stated |
| Baihetan Dam | Hydro | 13,050 MW | Not stated |
| Xiluodu | Hydro | 12,600 MW | Not stated |
| East Hope Metals Wucaiwan power station | Coal | 7,000 MW | Xinjiang East Hope Non-Ferrous Metal Co Ltd. |
| Datang Tuoketuo power station | Coal | 6,720 MW | Tuoketuo Power Company |
| Xiangjiaba | Hydro | 6,448 MW | Chinese Yangtze power |
| Longtan | Hydro | 6,300 MW | Longtan Hydropower Development Co. Ltd. |
| Gansu Wind Farm | Wind | 6,000 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.