Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potash critical | 14,400 kt K2O equivalent | 30.8% | 1 | No data |
| Platinum-group metals critical | 17,000 kg | 7.8% | 3 | No data |
| Niobium critical | 6,900 t Nb content | 6.2% | 2 | No data |
| Gold | 200 t Au content | 6.1% | 4 | 4.8% |
| Nickel critical | 125,000 t Ni content | 3.4% | 4 | No data |
| Iron ore | 70,000 kt usable ore | 2.7% | 7 | 2.6% |
| Copper | 515 kt Cu content | 2.2% | 12 | 0.7% |
| Lithium critical | 4,820 t Li content | 2.2% | 7 | 4.3% |
| Silver critical | 366 t Ag content | 1.4% | 14 | 0.8% |
| Cobalt critical | 3,350 t Co content | 1.1% | 6 | 1.8% |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 11,700 t | 0.8% | 8 | 1.9% |
| Molybdenum | 1,540 t Mo content | 0.6% | 11 | 0.4% |
| Rare earths critical | 0 t REO equivalent | 0.0% | 13 | No data |
| Antimony critical | 0 t Sb content | 0.0% | 17 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aer Nickel Mine | Copper, Nickel, Platinum-group metals, Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alexo Mine | Copper, Nickel, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Allan Mine | Potash | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Allard Lake Area Lac Tio | Titanium, Iron ore, Vanadium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Anderson Lake | Copper, Gold, Silver, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Ansil | Copper, Zinc, Silver, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Arthur White Mine | Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bachelor Lake Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Barker Creek Mine | Gold, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Beatrice Mine | Nickel, Copper, Gold, Silver, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bell Plaine Mine | Potash | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Big Gold Creek-Glacier Creek | Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robert-Bourassa | Hydro | 5,616 MW | Hydro-Québec |
| Churchill Falls | Hydro | 5,428 MW | Not stated |
| Darlington | Nuclear | 3,740 MW | Not stated |
| Bruce B | Nuclear | 3,390 MW | Bruce Power LP |
| Bruce A | Nuclear | 3,220 MW | Bruce Power LP |
| La Grande-4 | Hydro | 2,779 MW | Hydro-Québec |
| Mica | Hydro | 2,746 MW | BC Hydro |
| G.M. Shrum | Hydro | 2,730 MW | BC Hydro |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.