Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iron ore | 982,000 kt usable ore | 37.8% | 1 | 37.9% |
| Lithium critical | 82,700 t Li content | 37.3% | 1 | 22.7% |
| Zinc critical | 1,100 kt Zn content | 9.2% | 3 | 26.7% |
| Gold | 284 t Au content | 8.7% | 3 | 19.7% |
| Manganese critical | 1,600 kt Mn content | 8.6% | 3 | 32.2% |
| Rare earths critical | 29,000 t REO equivalent | 7.6% | 3 | No data |
| Silver critical | 1,050 t Ag content | 4.2% | 9 | 14.9% |
| Tin critical | 11,300 t Sn content | 3.8% | 8 | No data |
| Copper | 765 kt Cu content | 3.3% | 9 | 10.2% |
| Nickel critical | 98,000 t Ni content | 2.6% | 7 | No data |
| Cobalt critical | 4,780 t Co content | 1.6% | 4 | 14.2% |
| Tungsten critical | 920 t W content | 1.1% | 7 | No data |
| Antimony critical | 1,270 t Sb content | 1.1% | 7 | No data |
| Phosphate rock | 2,500 kt | 1.0% | 13 | 1.1% |
| Molybdenum | 600 t Mo content | 0.2% | 14 | 4.5% |
| Vanadium critical | 0 t V content | 0.0% | 6 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adelaide River Mine | Uranium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Allied Eneabba | Titanium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Allied Eneabba Deposit | Titanium, Rare earths | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Ardlethan Mine | Tin | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Argo Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Argyle Mine | Diamonds | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Ballina Beach | Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bamboo Creek Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bardoc Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bauxite - Australia | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bellevue Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Black Cat Ii Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bayswater | Coal | 2,640 MW | Macquarie Generation |
| Liddell | Coal | 2,200 MW | Macquarie Generation |
| Loy Yang A | Coal | 2,180 MW | GEAC Great Energy Alliance Corporation |
| Gladstone | Coal | 1,680 MW | GPS Joint Venture |
| Hazelwood | Coal | 1,600 MW | Hazelwood Power |
| Tumut 3 | Hydro | 1,500 MW | Snowy Hydro Ltd |
| Yallourn | Coal | 1,480 MW | TRUenergy |
| Stanwell | Coal | 1,460 MW | Stanwell Corporation Ltd |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.