Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Silver critical | 5,780 t Ag content | 22.8% | 1 | 6.1% |
| Zinc critical | 773 kt Zn content | 6.5% | 5 | 5.8% |
| Molybdenum | 16,200 t Mo content | 6.3% | 5 | 0.8% |
| Gold | 140 t Au content | 4.3% | 7 | 2.1% |
| Copper | 717 kt Cu content | 3.1% | 11 | 5.4% |
| Antimony critical | 600 t Sb content | 0.5% | 10 | No data |
| Iron ore | 7,800 kt usable ore | 0.3% | 17 | 0.3% |
| Phosphate rock | 365 kt | 0.2% | 24 | 0.0% |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 706 t | 0.0% | 15 | 1.0% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amarillos | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Avino | Silver, Copper, Gold, Lead | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bolanos Mine | Silver, Lead, Zinc, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Cananea | Copper, Molybdenum | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Cerro De Mercado | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Cerro Gordo Mine | Silver, Lead, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Cuale District | Copper, Gold, Silver, Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Encino | Iron ore, Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Monte Mine | Silver, Zinc, Lead, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Palmar District | Silver, Lead | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Potosi | Zinc, Lead, Silver, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Encantada - Buenavista Fluorspar District | Rare earths | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plutarco Elías Calles (Petacalco) | Coal | 2,778 MW | CFE |
| Manuel Moreno Torres (Chicoasén) | Hydro | 2,400 MW | CFE |
| Adolfo López Mateos (Tuxpan) | Oil | 2,100 MW | CFE |
| Francisco Pérez Ríos (Tula) | Oil | 1,606 MW | CFE |
| Laguna Verde | Nuclear | 1,510 MW | CFE |
| Carbón II | Coal | 1,400 MW | CFE |
| Manuel Álvarez Moreno (Manzanillo) | Oil | 1,300 MW | CFE |
| Infiernillo | Hydro | 1,200 MW | CFE |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.