Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iron ore | 282,000 kt usable ore | 10.8% | 4 | 10.9% |
| Zinc critical | 870 kt Zn content | 7.3% | 4 | 4.2% |
| Chromium critical | 3,370 kt | 6.8% | 4 | No data |
| Manganese critical | 731 kt Mn content | 3.9% | 5 | 1.9% |
| Silver critical | 700 t Ag content | 2.8% | 12 | 1.3% |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 17,600 t | 1.1% | 7 | 2.8% |
| Rare earths critical | 2,900 t REO equivalent | 0.8% | 5 | No data |
| Phosphate rock | 1,700 kt | 0.7% | 17 | 0.0% |
| Copper | 27 kt Cu content | 0.1% | 14 | 0.2% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh State | Manganese | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bagru Hills Mine | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bailadila No. 11-C Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bailadila No. 14 Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bailadila No. 5 Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Balaghat Mine | Manganese | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Balaria Mine | Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bhimtanagar Mine | Chromium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bhutuda Mine | Manganese | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bicholim-Srirgao Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bolani Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Boula Mining Area | Chromium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| VINDH_CHAL STPS | Coal | 4,760 MW | Not stated |
| MUNDRA TPP | Coal | 4,620 MW | Not stated |
| MUNDRA UMPP | Coal | 4,000 MW | Not stated |
| SASAN UMPP | Coal | 3,960 MW | Not stated |
| TIRORA TPP | Coal | 3,300 MW | Not stated |
| RIHAND | Coal | 3,000 MW | Not stated |
| TALCHER STPS | Coal | 3,000 MW | Not stated |
| SIPAT STPS | Coal | 2,980 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.