Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | 5,510 kt Cu content | 24.0% | 1 | 18.4% |
| Lithium critical | 48,900 t Li content | 22.0% | 2 | 24.9% |
| Molybdenum | 38,500 t Mo content | 15.0% | 3 | 15.3% |
| Silver critical | 1,200 t Ag content | 4.7% | 7 | 5.4% |
| Potash critical | 564 kt K2O equivalent | 1.2% | 9 | No data |
| Iron ore | 18,000 kt usable ore | 0.7% | 14 | 0.7% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baguedano Cu Mine | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Buena Esperanza | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Calama Cu Mine | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Carmen | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Catiao Beach | Gold, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chepica | Lithium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chiloe Island | Gold, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Combarbala Cu Mine | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Comquimbo Mn Mines | Manganese | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Dorado | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Indio | Gold, Silver, Copper, Antimony, Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| El Pleito | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| TERMOELECTRICA TOCOPILLA (U12) | Coal | 1,002 MW | E-CL |
| NEHUENCO | Gas | 875 MW | COLBUN S.A. |
| ATACAMA (CC1-CC2) | Gas | 768 MW | GASATACAMA |
| GUACOLDA | Coal | 760 MW | AES GENER S.A. |
| RALCO | Hydro | 690 MW | ENDESA |
| PEHUENCHE | Hydro | 570 MW | EMPRESA ELECTRICA PEHUENCHE S.A. |
| TERMOELECTRICA ANGAMOS 1(ANG1)_ 2(ANG2) | Coal | 488 MW | ANGAMOS |
| BOCAMINA (I-II) | Coal | 478 MW | ENDESA |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.