Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Niobium critical | 104,000 t Nb content | 92.9% | 1 | No data |
| Iron ore | 428,000 kt usable ore | 16.5% | 2 | 16.8% |
| Tin critical | 27,600 t Sn content | 9.4% | 4 | No data |
| Lithium critical | 10,200 t Li content | 4.6% | 6 | 1.5% |
| Vanadium critical | 5,190 t V content | 4.4% | 4 | No data |
| Manganese critical | 705 kt Mn content | 3.8% | 6 | 16.7% |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 58,000 t | 3.7% | 3 | 23.9% |
| Chromium critical | 1,400 kt | 2.8% | 7 | No data |
| Gold | 82 t Au content | 2.5% | 13 | 3.8% |
| Phosphate rock | 5,300 kt | 2.2% | 7 | 2.2% |
| Nickel critical | 67,500 t Ni content | 1.8% | 8 | No data |
| Potash critical | 331 kt K2O equivalent | 0.7% | 12 | No data |
| Rare earths critical | 560 t REO equivalent | 0.1% | 10 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abrigo | Tungsten | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Acari, Jardim Do Serido | Tungsten | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Agua Branca | Tin | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Agua Fria - Fazenda Roncador | Diamonds | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Agua Fria Area | Diamonds | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alcan Mine | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alcominas Mine | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alegria | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Anastacio | Diamonds | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Araci Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Aracuai | Lithium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Araxa | Niobium and tantalum, Phosphate, Rare earths, Uranium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tucuruí | Hydro | 8,535 MW | Not stated |
| Itaipu (Parte Brasileira) | Hydro | 7,000 MW | Not stated |
| Jirau | Hydro | 3,750 MW | Not stated |
| Santo Antônio | Hydro | 3,568 MW | Not stated |
| Ilha Solteira | Hydro | 3,444 MW | Not stated |
| Belo Monte | Hydro | 3,328 MW | Not stated |
| Xingó | Hydro | 3,162 MW | Not stated |
| Paulo Afonso IV | Hydro | 2,462 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.