Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chromium critical | 22,900 kt | 46.2% | 1 | No data |
| Manganese critical | 7,490 kt Mn content | 40.1% | 1 | 30.6% |
| Platinum-group metals critical | 82,600 kg | 38.1% | 2 | No data |
| Vanadium critical | 8,050 t V content | 6.8% | 3 | No data |
| Gold | 90 t Au content | 2.7% | 12 | 7.6% |
| Iron ore | 64,000 kt usable ore | 2.5% | 8 | 2.6% |
| Phosphate rock | 2,220 kt | 0.9% | 15 | 2.1% |
| Rare earths critical | 0 t REO equivalent | 0.0% | 15 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amandelbult Mine | Platinum-group metals, Nickel, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Artonvilla Mine | Copper, Platinum-group metals, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Atok | Platinum-group metals, Nickel, Copper, Cobalt | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bafokeng North Mine | Copper, Platinum-group metals, Nickel | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Beesthoek Mancorp Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Black Mountain Mine | Lead, Zinc, Copper, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Black Rock Mine | Manganese, Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bracken | Gold, Platinum-group metals, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bracken Mines | Gold, Silver, Platinum-group metals, Uranium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Brits Ucar Mine | Vanadium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Broken Hill Ore Body | Zinc, Lead, Copper, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Buffalo Fluorspar Mine | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kendal power station | Coal | 4,116 MW | Eskom |
| Majuba power station | Coal | 4,110 MW | Eskom |
| Matimba power station | Coal | 3,990 MW | Eskom |
| Lethabo power station | Coal | 3,708 MW | Eskom |
| Tutuka power station | Coal | 3,654 MW | Eskom |
| Duvha power station | Coal | 3,600 MW | Eskom |
| Matla power station | Coal | 3,600 MW | Eskom |
| Kriel power station | Coal | 3,000 MW | Eskom |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.