Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copper | 823 kt Cu content | 3.6% | 8 | 2.1% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Broken Hill of Zambia | Lead, Zinc, Vanadium, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kabwe Mine | Silver, Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Baluba | Copper, Cobalt | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Chibuluma Mine | Copper, Cobalt | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Hippo Mine | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kalengwa | Copper, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Konkola | Cobalt, Copper, Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Luanshya | Copper, Uranium, Cobalt | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Mindola - Nkana | Copper, Cobalt | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Nampundwe | Iron ore, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| (Facility) Luanshya Copper Smelter | Copper | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| (Facility) Mufulira Copper Refinery | Copper | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kafue Gorge | Hydro | 990 MW | ZESCO |
| Kariba | Hydro | 930 MW | ZESCO |
| Maamba plant | Coal | 300 MW | Maamba Collieries |
| Itezhi- Tezhi | Hydro | 120 MW | ZESCO |
| Victoria Falls | Hydro | 108 MW | ZESCO |
| Ndola | Oil | 50 MW | ZESCO |
| Kafue | Solar | 48 MW | Not stated |
| Luano | Oil | 40 MW | ZESCO |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.