Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graphite (natural) critical | 27,000 t | 1.7% | 5 | 5.8% |
| Rare earths critical | 0 t REO equivalent | 0.0% | 16 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minjingu | Phosphate | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Mwadui | Diamonds | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Buck Reef | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Merelani | Graphite | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Panda Hill | Niobium and tantalum | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Tanga Phos-Acid Plant | Phosphate | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Uruwira | Silver, Gold, Platinum-group metals | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kaborishoke Kwerya | Tin | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bulyanhulu Gold Mine | Silver, Gold | Listed, status not stated | Barrick Mining Corporation | Wikidata |
| Buzwagi Gold Mine | Silver, Gold | Listed, status not stated | Barrick Mining Corporation | Wikidata |
| Geita Gold Mine | Gold | Listed, status not stated | AngloGold Ashanti | Wikidata |
| Golden Pride Gold Mine | Gold | Listed, status not stated | Resolute Mining | Wikidata |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ubungo Gas (Songas) | Gas | 208 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
| Kidatu | Hydro | 204 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
| Kihansi | Hydro | 180 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
| IPTL Tanzania | Oil | 100 MW | IPPs |
| Mtera | Hydro | 80 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
| Pangani Falls | Hydro | 68 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
| Nyakato | Gas | 63 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
| Tegeta | Gas | 45 MW | Tanzania Electric Supply Company |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.