Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tin critical | 3,100 t Sn content | 1.1% | 13 | No data |
| Rare earths critical | 1,500 t REO equivalent | 0.4% | 8 | No data |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amalgamated Tin Mines | Tin, Niobium and tantalum | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bisichi Tin Bukuru Operations | Niobium and tantalum, Tin | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Dsc, Warri | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Gold and Base Metal Mines Ltd | Tin, Niobium and tantalum | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Itakpe | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| United Tin Areas | Tin, Niobium and tantalum | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| (Facility) Jos Refinery | Tin | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| (Facility) Jos Smelter | Tin, Niobium and tantalum | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bisichi, Amalgamated Tin | Tin | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Itakpe mine | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Agbaja Prospect | Iron ore | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Birnin Gwari Prospect | Iron ore | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alaoji | Gas | 1,074 MW | Not stated |
| Kainji | Hydro | 760 MW | Government of Nigeria |
| Olorunsogo II | Gas | 750 MW | Not stated |
| Shiroro | Hydro | 600 MW | Government of Nigeria |
| Calabar | Gas | 561 MW | Calabar Generation Company |
| Jebba | Hydro | 540 MW | Government of Nigeria |
| Omotosho II | Gas | 500 MW | Not stated |
| Ihovbor | Gas | 450 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.