Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iron ore | 14,300 kt usable ore | 0.5% | 16 | 0.6% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| El Rhein Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| F'Derik Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Rouessa Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Tazadit Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Akjoujt Tailings Project | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| F'Derik | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Guelb El Rhein | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Tazadit | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bou Naga | Rare earths | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Akjoujt | Copper, Gold, Silver | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| A238 mine | Uranium | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Askaf | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nouadhibou | Gas | 120 MW | Not stated |
| Guelbs El Rhein | Oil | 67 MW | Not stated |
| Nouakchott (Thermal) | Oil | 52 MW | Not stated |
| Nouakchott (Solar) | Solar | 30 MW | Not stated |
| Nouakchott (Wind) | Wind | 30 MW | Not stated |
| Zouerate | Oil | 14 MW | Not stated |
| Zouerate (Solar) | Solar | 3 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.