Minerals produced
| Mineral | Production | Share of world | World rank | Reserves share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Potash critical | 2,500 kt K2O equivalent | 5.4% | 5 | No data |
| Graphite (natural) critical | 140 t | 0.0% | 17 | No data |
| Copper | 0 kt Cu content | 0.0% | 15 | 0.0% |
Source: USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries, MCS 2026. Rank is among reporting countries.
Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andreasberg | Silver, Gold, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bad Grund Mine | Silver, Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Bergmannessegen-Hugo Mine | Potash | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Friedensgrube Mine | Gold, Silver, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Friedrichsall Mine | Potash | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Hattorf Mine | Potash | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Landeskrone Mine | Gold, Silver, Platinum-group metals | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Leonie Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Meggen Mine | Lead, Zinc | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Meggen Zn Mine | Zinc, Lead | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Meschede | Copper, Zinc, Silver, Gold, Platinum-group metals, Chromium, Nickel | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Michaelis - Fundgrube Mine | Gold, Silver, Platinum-group metals, Nickel | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niederaussem power station | Coal | 3,430 MW | RWE Power AG |
| Janschwalde power station | Coal | 2,790 MW | Vattenfall Europe AG |
| Boxberg power station | Coal | 2,585 MW | Vattenfall Europe AG |
| Kernkraft Gundremmingen | Nuclear | 2,572 MW | Kernkraftwerk Gundremmingen GmbH (KGG) |
| BoA 2 | Coal | 2,100 MW | RWE Power AG |
| Neurath power station | Coal | 2,068 MW | RWE Power AG |
| Gersteinwerk | Gas | 2,005 MW | RWE Generation SE |
| GKM (Mannheim) power station | Coal | 1,958 MW | Grosskraftwerk Mannheim |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.