Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chippis | Bauxite and aluminium | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Martigny | Bauxite and aluminium | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Steg | Bauxite and aluminium | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Backi, iron ore mines of unknown age | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Bergwerk Käpfnach | Coal | Listed, status not stated | Canton of Zurich | Wikidata |
| Bergwerk Riedhof | Coal | Listed, status not stated | Q55387901 | Wikidata |
| Forêts du Beucle, medieval iron mine | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Former Lead Mine with processing plant | Lead | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Gisidal / Birmistel | Coal | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Gondo Gold Mine | Gold | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Gonzen iron mine | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Greit, former modern brown coal mine | Coal | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bieudron | Hydro | 1,285 MW | Not stated |
| Kernkraftwerk Leibstadt | Nuclear | 1,245 MW | Kernkraftwerk leibstadt AG |
| Kernkraftwerk Gösgen | Nuclear | 1,035 MW | Kernkraftwerk Gösgen-Däniken AG |
| Limmern | Hydro | 1,000 MW | Not stated |
| Kernkraftwerk Beznau | Nuclear | 760 MW | Axpo AG |
| Nendaz | Hydro | 392 MW | Not stated |
| Kernkraftwerk Mühleberg | Nuclear | 390 MW | BWK FMB Energie AG |
| Grimsel 2 | Hydro | 348 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.