Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diminco Mine | Diamonds | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Sierra Leone Ore and Metals Gandama Mine | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Sierra Rutile | Titanium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Sierra Rutile Mine | Titanium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Mogbwemo/Pejebu/Lanti/Gveni/Sembeh | Titanium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Moyamba | Bauxite and aluminium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Alako Water | Platinum-group metals | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Babadori Stream | Platinum-group metals | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Big Water | Platinum-group metals | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Freetown Layered Basic Complex Placers. | Platinum-group metals, Bauxite and aluminium, Titanium, Iron ore | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Glinda Water | Platinum-group metals | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Guma Water | Platinum-group metals | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kingtom | Oil | 53 MW | Not stated |
| Bumbuna Dam | Hydro | 50 MW | Not stated |
| Bonthe Works | Oil | 23 MW | Sierra Rutile Limited |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.