Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bayda Mine | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Lasail Mine | Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Oman Chromite | Chromium | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Sohar | Copper, Silver, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Miraah CSP | Solar | 1,021 MW | Not stated |
| Sohar Alumnium | Gas | 1,000 MW | Not stated |
| SMN Barka | Gas | 716 MW | Not stated |
| Rusail | Gas | 684 MW | Not stated |
| Sohar | Gas | 632 MW | Not stated |
| AL GHUBRAH | Gas | 480 MW | Not stated |
| ACWA Barka | Gas | 471 MW | Not stated |
| Wadi Jizzi | Gas | 325 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.