Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barrytown | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Clutha, Cromwell-Alexandra | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Glenorchy | Tungsten | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kanieri Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kumara | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Martha Hill Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Queen of Beauty Mine | Platinum-group metals, Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Rimu-Kaniere | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Taharoa | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Taharoa Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Waikato North Head | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Waverley Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Manapouri | Hydro | 800 MW | Meridian Energy |
| Ohau A | Hydro | 688 MW | Meridian Energy |
| Benmore | Hydro | 540 MW | Meridian Energy |
| Huntly (steam) | Coal | 500 MW | Genesis Energy |
| Clyde | Hydro | 432 MW | Contact Energy |
| Huntly (CC) | Gas | 403 MW | Genesis Energy |
| Maraetai | Hydro | 352 MW | Mercury Energy |
| Aviemore | Hydro | 220 MW | Meridian Energy |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.