Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sardalas | Potash | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kouri Bougoudi gold mine | Gold | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Marada | Potash | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Wadi Ash Shatti | Iron ore | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Az Zawiyah | Gas | 1,440 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| North Benghazi Station 1 | Gas | 1,040 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| Al Khums | Gas | 1,000 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| Western Mountain Station- Ruwais | Gas | 624 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| Misrata | Gas | 500 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| Double Corner Power Station 1 | Gas | 480 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| Gulf of Sirte | Gas | 350 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
| Zuenita | Gas | 335 MW | General Electricity Company of Libya |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.