Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chawia | Graphite | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kerio Valley Fluorspar Mine | Iron ore | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Lake Magadi | Cobalt | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Rangwa/Ruri/Homa | Rare earths | Processing plant | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Gilgil | Manganese | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kitere Copper Mine | Copper | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Mrima Hill Mine | Niobium and tantalum | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Asembo Bay | Gold | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Kinangoni Hill | Lead, Zinc, Silver | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Macaulder | Gold | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Oldoinyo-Nyiro | Graphite | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Rangwa/Ruri/Homa Mountain | Rare earths | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lake Turkana | Wind | 310 MW | Lake Turkana Wind Power Ltd. |
| Gitaru | Hydro | 225 MW | Kenya Electric Generating Company |
| Olkaria I | Geothermal | 185 MW | Kenya Electric Generating Company |
| Kiambere | Hydro | 168 MW | Kenya Electric Generating Company |
| Olkaria I units 4 & 5 | Geothermal | 140 MW | Kenya Electric Generating Company |
| Olkaria IV | Geothermal | 140 MW | Kenya Electric Generating Company |
| Olkaria III (Orpower 4) | Geothermal | 139 MW | Ormat Technologies Inc |
| Kipevu III | Oil | 120 MW | Kenya Electric Generating Company |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.