Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asmera Nippon | Lead, Zinc, Copper | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Lega Dembi Deposit | Gold, Silver | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Yubdo | Platinum-group metals, Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Adi Nefas Doop | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Adola Alluvial Deposits | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Adola Gold Mine | Gold | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Asmaradebara | Copper | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Barka River Basin | Gold | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Hara Hot Mines | Gold | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Medrizen | Gold | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Queen Saba Mine | Gold | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Schiumagelle Mine | Gold | Past producer | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gilgel Gibe III | Hydro | 1,870 MW | Not stated |
| Beles | Hydro | 460 MW | Not stated |
| Gilgel Gibe II | Hydro | 420 MW | Not stated |
| Tekeze | Hydro | 300 MW | Not stated |
| Adama | Wind | 204 MW | Not stated |
| Gilgel Gibe I | Hydro | 184 MW | Not stated |
| Melka Wekana | Hydro | 153 MW | Not stated |
| Fincha | Hydro | 134 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.