Mines and deposits
| Site | Commodities | Status | Operator | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Darrahe-Nur | Niobium and tantalum, Tin | Operating | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Badakhshan Gold | Gold | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Balkhab Copper Mine | Copper | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Ḩājīgak | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Ma‘din-e Mis-e ‘Aynak | Copper | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Mes Aynak mine | Copper | Listed, status not stated | MCC-JCL Aynak Minerals Company Ltd | Wikidata |
| Shaida Copper Mine | Copper | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Siyāh Rēg | Iron ore | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Zarkashan Mine | Gold | Listed, status not stated | Not stated | Wikidata |
| Bakhud | Zinc, Lead | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
| Shamakat Field | Lithium, Tin, Niobium and tantalum | Prospect | Not stated | USGS MRDS |
Showing operating and larger sites first. Open the map for every site.
Power capacity by fuel
| Largest plants | Fuel | Capacity | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Naghlu Dam Hydroelectric Power Plant Afghanistan | Hydro | 100 MW | Not stated |
| Mahipar Hydroelectric Power Plant Afghanistan | Hydro | 66 MW | Not stated |
| Northwest Kabul Power Plant Afghanistan | Gas | 42 MW | Not stated |
| Kajaki Hydroelectric Power Plant Afghanistan | Hydro | 33 MW | Not stated |
| Sarobi Dam Hydroelectric Power Plant Afghanistan | Hydro | 22 MW | Not stated |
| Nangarhar (Darunta) Hydroelectric Power Plant Afghanistan | Hydro | 12 MW | Not stated |
| Kandahar DOG | Solar | 10 MW | Not stated |
| Kandahar JOL | Solar | 10 MW | Not stated |
Source: WRI Global Power Plant Database v1.3 (CC BY 4.0). Plants of about 1 MW and above, data mostly 2018 to 2021.
Resource dependence
Source: World Bank World Development Indicators.
Mine and deposit locations combine the USGS Mineral Resources Data System (public domain, last updated 2022, strongest for the United States and the Americas) and Wikidata (CC0, notable named mines). Coverage is uneven and partly historical, and status can be out of date: this is not a complete or current registry, and a point on the map is not an offer, a licence or evidence of a legal right. Production and reserve figures are from the USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries and are rounded estimates. Power plants are from the WRI Global Power Plant Database (CC BY 4.0), mostly 2018 to 2021. Nothing here is investment, legal or technical advice.